The First Week of Coding :P

Why I have used this P smiley in this title?

Answer at the end P

Lets come to the point. The first week had been very hectic to me. I had a lot of trouble in designing project. The trouble is all because of me I have to accept that honestly. I had to satisfy everyone’s ideas like Daniel, Brian, Ben and etc. But I have done successfully in the late Wednesday. I had to speed up my brain and to work fast on coding. Here comes the problem, the biggest headache in everyone’s life EXAMSSSSS. I wanna know who introduced this in the world. It really slowed down my progress. I thought to be on safer i can do the front-end and sql stuffs. I first chose to do the sql thing. I made a very big mistake in sql.diff.xml file. I wrote the queries in two <diff> division. Well it gave me error 150. That error is for foreign key constraint. Finally I asked for Daniel’s help he suggested me to put all the queries under one <diff>. Ha that worked fine:).

In summer we face one more problem in India. The problem is so simple but cant tackle it. Power cuts. I struggled a lot with that last week. We never had so many power cuts in day time. 6 hours a day without power?? nah thats so difficult. Somehow now its alright but still i have exams till 6th :(.

During my coding i had to reload my webapp very often. I had a very hard time with tomcat while reloading it. It slowed down my entire system. I had to find some tool to fix it. Here come Lambda Probe. Really a good work which saved my time and temper. Here’s the link for the screenshot while reloading my app. It dint slow down my system and pretty fast too. Hats off Lambda Probe.

Finally I brought my module under the module management page without any errors. You can have a look at it here. And under the admin page I have brought it successfully. I have created two links one to create the hierarchies another to manage it like editing and deleting the hierarchy. But not yet decided about the second one. I am gonna start the backend work today hope I will get less errors this time :). I am gonna give you two more screenshots have a look at it. Here it is 1 and 2.

Sorry guys I dont want to test your patience by inserting all the images in the page. So if you wish to view them click on the links.

Answer: Because I have used that smiley more than a thousand times this week P .

3 responses to “The First Week of Coding :P

  1. What does lambda probe do for you exactly? How fast were you able to install openmrs? Were you able to install/reinstall more than 4/5 times without having to restart tomcat?

  2. Sweet, never heard of Lambda Probe… this will come in very handy for larger OpenMRS installs such as the one in Eldoret, Kenya.

    Nice work, thus far… and thanks for the good update!

  3. Actually Lambda Probe is similar to our Tomcat Manager. But I face problems like slowing down my system whenever I try to reload my webapp with the in-built manager. And it also affects my entire system performance if I reload the application 3 or 4 times without restarting the system. I could not even work with Eclipse during that time. So Lambda Probe saves my system from those problems. With in-built manager if something goes wrong I had to restart the tomcat server but with Lambda Probe I can do all those things easily and pretty fast. Plus I never restarted tomcat for anything after I deployed Lambda Probe. You can just give it a try.

Leave a comment